Moni Vlatadon (Old Monastery Of Vlatados)
Moni Vlatadon (Old Monastery of Vlatados)
Two brothers named Dorotheus and Mark Vlattis, were the persons who founded the monastery in 1360.
The two brothers were members of the intellectual circle of the Bishop of Thessaloniki, Gregory Palamas, who later was announced, a saint.
He died in 1359 and a mural decorates the inside of the church.
It’s amazing how the building and particularly the Catholic maintains the characteristics of the original building, despite the many repairs and restorations.
The unique inner wall is a perfect example of the style of the second half of the 14th century.
(This point should be reached by the Byzantine castles and walk downtown through the stone alleyways of unbelievable beauty).
See the nearest sights:
IncludedMoni Vlatadon (Old Monastery Of Vlatados)
Bus stop 1: White Tower
Bus stop 2: Archaeological Museum of Thessaloniki
Bus stop 3: Agia Sofia
Bus stop 4: Agios Dimitrios
Bus stop 5: Byzantine Castles
Bus stop 6: Arch of Galerius (Kamara)
Bus stop 7: Aristotelous Square
Bus stop 8: Port of Thessaloniki
The ticket price does not include entry to the archaeological sites - sights. SightSeeing Thessaloniki is not responsible for opening hours and access to archaeological sites or other sights.